My Whole 30

So some friends talked me into doing Whole 30.  {Yes, I’m still calling them “friends.”} At first I went back and forth.  I had to give up Chick-Fil-A!  Wine!  Honey goat cheese from Trader Joes!  I don’t know about this.  I eat fairly healthy a lot of the time but I’m a carb girl and knew saying goodbye to bread and tortilla chips for 30 days would be tough.  Charleston is SUCH a foodie city!  But I decided to give it a go.  Here are some thoughts during 30 days of no dairy, sugar, carbs, beans, and alcohol…

Day 1: The most difficult challenge so far (yes, 5 hours in) – passing the cheese aisle at Trader Joe’s and not being able to purchase.  And did I really just spend $100 on groceries?

Day 2:  I realized that I will be spending a large amount of time washing dishes as I do not have a dishwasher.  Guys, this is what I’m working with.  To cook almost e-v-e-r-y meal at home for the next 29 days.  Note the mini-fridge to fit all of this fresh food in.
FullSizeRender (4)

Day 4: Watched the Revenant.  Okay, Whole 30 isn’t so bad.  I can do this. #perspective

Day 5:  Everyone in central New York will understand this.  I discovered Whole30 approved ranch dressing at Whole Foods that tastes like Rye Boat Dip. Big day.

Day 6: Rosemary is my new favorite herb.

Day 7:  Here’s the little guy I watch a couple times a week…

image1

Day 8: Trader Joe’s Plantain Chips and Salsa are getting me through these 30 days.  My favorite new snack!  I know they might sound gross to you, but I’m really going to continue eating these even when I don’t have to, I love them!  Can you OD on Potassium?
FullSizeRender (3)

Day 10: I’m soooo glad I’m doing this with friends.  We can sit in my apartment on a Friday night and eat soup and asparagus and mango smoothies together.

Day 12:  You know you’re doing Whole 30 when you find Lara Bars in your purse, your car cup holders, coat pockets… In case of emergency.

Day 15:  I made it to the halfway point and haven’t cheated!

Day 18: I cheated.  My friend Aly was in town from Nashville and a few of us went to LEON’S OYSTER SHOP for dinner.  My friend Sarah reminded me… in the words of Joey Tribbiani, “If you’re gonna do something wrong, do it right!”  Leon’s is one of my current favorites.  I had the Siam Salad … with wine, scalloped potatoes and a hush puppy.  And it was fantastic.

Day 21:  I really just want a Chick-Fil-A number one on a wheat bun with extra pickles and a Diet Dr Pepper.

Day 22:  Ok, it’s not alllll bad…
FullSizeRender (2)

Day 24 & 25: Bachelorette weekend in Asheville to celebrate Kelly.  Needless to say, I cheated again.  Oopsies.  If I were a hard core Whole 30er I’d start over again.  But I’m not.  I haven’t had a carb in 25 days for crying out loud!
IMG_4588

Day 27:  Ok , this is my absolute favorite recipe I’ve tried.  Pad Thai with spaghetti squash noodles.  It’s so delicious you can’t even tell it’s healthy!  And you can grab seconds {and thirds?} without feeling guilty.
IMG_4343

Day 30:  I did it!  As much as this post is pointing out some of the negatives and the temptations, I really enjoyed it!  You definitely have to make more time to shop and meal plan/prep but it’s worth it.  I feel great, learned easy ways to make {healthy!} substitutions and found lots of new recipes that I will continue using.  The most difficult part is the social aspect and going out with friends, especially in a city like Charleston.  It’s much easier to complete with a buddy or a group of friends.  I will definitely be doing it again.

Here’s my Pinterest board that I created and will be adding to!

 

 

Leave a Reply

