Newborn Shoots

Are you thinking of planning a newborn shoot with me?  Here are some things you can do before I arrive to make things go as smoothly as possible!

“My favorite part of working with Melissa is that she made us feel completely comfortable no matter the situation.  Our first experience was at our daughter’s newborn photo session.  I was not feeling my best but she managed to make me feel at ease and just went with the flow of having a newborn that could be totally fine and calm one minute to fussy and hungry the next.  She let us go at our own pace, we never felt rushed.”  -Mindy, Charleston

Martin-11

– Crank the heat up!  Before I arrive, turn the heat up in your house so baby is nice and toasty 🙂  The goal is to have your sweet baby sleep through most of the shoot. (If they don’t, we’ll make it work!)


ba

– Feed your little one before I arrive.  Hopefully they’ll be in the food coma stage when I start photographing them!  Then I can get details like fingers, lips, ears and toes easily.  Again, no worries if they don’t sleep… I’ve done entire shoots with wide awake babes!

Newborn1

-Be thinking of items that you would like to include in the shoot.  My style is capturing real life so I don’t use many “props” but I will bring a couple of wraps/blankets and a basket.  If there are any items that you would like to include in the photos (a blanket someone made, a hat or outfit, a book, etc.) go ahead and pull those out before I arrive.  I don’t NEED these items, but am happy to use them!

o

-When I arrive, I’ll ask to walk around your home to look for the rooms with the best light.  Good natural lighting makes ALL the difference to create beautiful images!

newborn2

-IF you want naked photos (up to you)… loosen the diaper a bit before I arrive to reduce red lines on baby’s skin.

Garza-1

-Relax!  Some parents feel like they’re wasting my time if the baby is crying or needs to be changed or fed during our shoot and I have to wait around a little bit.  I expect all of this and am in no rush.  I always plan extra time for newborn shoots (plan on about 1 1/2 – 2 hours).  It doesn’t bother me one bit if there is some waiting in between snapping pics 🙂

Murdaugh-2

Thanks for reading!  If you have any questions or want to book a newborn or family shoot you can email me at info@melissagriffinphotography.com.  This also makes a great shower gift for friends and family who are pregnant and I have gift cards available.  I look forward to working with you!

ChapmanAnnie-249

Leave a Reply

